Three Dead Sheep.

Screen Shot 2012-12-03 at 6.42.05 PM

This morning I woke to find the smell of fried eggs permeating and the air.  Our house absolutely reeked of fried eggs.  Mike was creating a feast…for one.  I opted out of eggs and selected some nectarines, and greek yogurt.  I brewed up some tea and brought myself alive with the caffeine.

After we consumed adequate amounts of food to get us through a gruelling day of heated labour, I stepped outside to greet the day.

It was already nearly 30 degrees.

I wonder quietly to myself; “Is this what it feels like in Africa?”

I opted to not wear a cotton checkered shirt over my tank top.  Skin cancer or not, I knew I’d be throwing the extra layer on the seat beside me anyway.  I put on my short shorts, lathered spf 30 on, and slipped into my rugged manly work boots.

Mike took the tractor, and I drove the truck to my destination.

We’ve been left to watch over the place while they are on holiday, and part of our duties require tending to many animals.

One of them is a rather massive dog called Jim.  He comes from the city.  He’s visiting the farm briefly, and we’ve taken him onboard to also look after.  Despite his size he seems friendly and cute.  He always wags his tail, and has a happy go lucky attitude.  Jim recently had an operation, and for the past three days has been wearing a cone on his head to prevent him from licking the wound on his hind quarters.

My little weasel Tessie had joined me on my rounds.  She stayed with me while I fed the chickens.  She followed me while I checked on the tomatoes.  She whined for me, when I climbed the yard fence to feed the three pet lambs Tessa had been bringing back to health.

The three lambs are cautious, but one in particular loves to smell my hands.  She’s curious about me.

I climb the fence back to the house and continue on my list of duties.

I was instructed to take Jim’s cone off on Monday (today) if all looked well.  He certainly looked a lot better, and I pitied the poor guy having to navigate the yard with it on.  It took a little while to remove the device, but when he was released he leapt off merrily, ecstatic to run amok with out any hinderance.

There were a few more chickens that needed feeding, and so Tessie and I walked around sorting out their food.

It crossed my mind that I had not seen Jim in about 10 minutes.

“Jim?”

Normally when I call he’ll come bounding, beaming with a bit fat smile of contentment.

Silence.

“JIIIIIIIIIM?”

“JIMMMMEY?”

Nothing.

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw him.

I couldn’t believe my eyes.  He was in the lambs pen.

By the time I had run to get him out of the paddock, two of the lambs were dead.  He had killed them in less than 10 minutes.

The blood, the still bodies, the glazed eyes…I was shocked by the screams coming from my mouth, the dogs tail still wagging.

I was horrified.

I found the third sheep, it’s ear completely ripped off, and throat torn open.  Still struggling to breathe.  It jumped up from where I found it and began to slowly trot away from me.  I cried, and screamed some more at the dog.  He was still in the yard, keeping a large distance between the two of us.  I wished this poor lamb had died quickly.  She was suffering.  I’d have to get Mike to come and end her little life.

I’m not a person who’s typically violent.  But if I’d have had a gun in that moment, in all honestly I believe there would be one less Jim on the planet.  I agree, that’s a pretty horrible thought.

The whole fiasco just sucks.

I’ve locked Jim in a pen, and left him his bed and food.  I feel a bit badly keeping him locked, but also weary.  He will have to stay there until the owner returns in 4 days.

Has anyone experienced this before?  What did you do?  If it were your dog what would you do?

Screen Shot 2012-12-03 at 6.38.00 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-03 at 6.35.08 PM

Screen Shot 2012-12-03 at 6.40.55 PMps:  These photos are of our dog Tess, and Chocco.

2 thoughts on “Three Dead Sheep.

  1. Ok only you can really tell seeing the dog first hand. But dogs are killers, they kill smaller animals, especially chickens…and especially if they are not trained. We were warned that our dog’s breed was prone to killing smaller animals, so to be careful with our cats. He does or at least did have dog aggression and did mess up a few dogs. We were always there to stop him, so it never went as far as death, but I’m sure it could have. I trust him with my children, as far as I keep a careful eye at all times. Animals are animals. But I don’t think you need to fear him, unless he has people aggression too. To a dog, people and other animals are different. That being said, I wouldn’t let him run loose again, but I don’ think putting him down is necessary. Is he staying at the farm, because I definitely believe he will kill more sheep if given the chance.

    Like

    • Hey Jen thanks for writing. Yes I believe they all have the natural instinct to kill. I guess seeing it first hand, (this is the first time I’ve seen an animal kill another animal just because it could). That’s a lie, cats as well, but not on this scale, scared the shit out of me.

      I guess let me clarify, when I said lamb. They were about the size of a medium dog, weighing about 100lbs.

      After the attack I had to grab the dog by the scruff of his neck, and my fears are, what if he get’s vicious with me? He’s a pretty big dog.

      I’ve never had a dog go into pyscho killing mode.

      He’s only here for a week.

      I think many farmers would put the dog down if he lived in the country. He’s mad about the sheep. I’m not saying I would, but in that instant I was so angry I may have. I’m actually not sure what I would do with the dog if it were mine.

      I’m secretly thankful that we did not keep him at our house as we had previously suggested. If this had happened to our pets, I would have died.

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

