The Ranks Of The Pack.

Alright, so the wait is over!  I know it’s been an excruciating 24 hours for some of you, and I’ll cut to the chase.

1. Mike

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 1.25.08 PM

2. Tessie

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 1.27.28 PM

3. Holly

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 2.30.53 PM

This is the ranking from the eyes of Tessie.

Congrat’s to Heather who will be getting something wicked in the mail soon!

So why am I at the bottom?  A few reason’s I believe…

She will never question Mike’s command.  Ever!

Mike and I standing in opposite sides of the room, both calling to see where the dog will run first.  Mike wins every time!  I could be holding some steak, and she won’t come to me.

Mike does feed her every night, and he is also firm with her.

I can recall two times in the past year and a half that I’ve raised my voice at her.  I’m pretty soft.

In fact, it became obvious recently that Tessie did not see me as a superior at all.

Xmas day…

We had visitors, and our sofa was full of men.  One other man sat in an arm chair while I sat in the other in our living room.  The dog, seeing that she was not on the couch decided to crawl up onto me, and nudge her nose behind my back.

I started to laugh, because as much as it looked like she wanted a cuddle, she was actually trying to push me out of my spot.

When I refused to move, she plopped herself into a space in the corner of the armchair.  She turned her head to face away from me in disgust.  I called her name….she ignored me.

I can tell you why she is behaving this way, it does make quite a lot of sense.

She was for 8 months, the ignored first child.  While I was caring for Lena, I did not even notice Tessie.

I fear I played favourites big time.

I believe this is the end of my “playing favourites”, look where it got me!  

Or is it…?

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 12.49.56 PM

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 12.49.41 PM

I’ve just rescued a splendid fairy wren chick today, whom fell from it’s nest about 20 feet up in a tree.  I’ve been feeding it and hope it survives.

Sorry Tessie!!

6 thoughts on “The Ranks Of The Pack.

  1. Ha ha! It flips around between Darren, Cassie, and I. Feeding them is a big thing! It’s like it’s a constant battle with Cassie though, her being part border collie. They are super strong willed, stubborn, and more than a little bossy ;). But I’m sure Tessie loves her mama. 🙂

    I hope the wee birdie makes it!

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

