Hunting.

The weather has finally quit throwing summer at us and has now pleasantly cooled off.  Rain has been making an appearance and has germinated little sprigs of green which are just starting to pop out of the earth.  This is an exciting time for the farm, however a lot is riding on the next rain.  All of this growth may shrivel up and die in the sun if the timing isn’t right.

Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.15.02 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.15.11 AM

I am not sure what this is…An alien?  It’s like part crab part beetle.Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.15.27 AM

Mountain Ducks, there are 100’s of them here at the moment.Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.16.07 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.16.18 AM

Carnaby Cockatoo’s (threatened species) came and spent a couple of days at the house for the first time.  I was so happy to see them.Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.16.35 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.16.48 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.17.04 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.17.17 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.17.27 AM Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 7.17.36 AM

This is a spider I’ve had my eye out for for over a year!  So stoked to have found it yesterday…They normally hide in white flowers.

Last year we watched the entire farm turn a luscious green, only to see it all dry and go brown again.  Talk about a disaster.   I’d never seen anything quite like it.  We’ve got our fingers crossed that the mother nature will help Brian and Tessa (and all of the regional and national farmers).

The past couple of days I’ve taken a few hours to bush walk, it’s been clearing my mind and leaves me feeling excited and refreshed.  I brought Tessie with me, and spent hours trying to see what was starting to flower.  There wasn’t a whole lot of action when you looked at the landscape however with a little bit of effort I was able to find a few for this year.

I’ll definitely miss this activity…It’s such a relaxing and enjoyable way to enjoy the day.  I’ve heard there is lots of wildflower variety near Perth as well, so I might join a society to keep amongst the action!

What do you do when you need to slow down and relax your mind?

6 thoughts on “Hunting.

  1. These are such beautiful pictures. I’m loving experiencing WA’s [slow] transition into Autumn at the moment, watching nature react and change.
    To relax my mind I go to Margaret River – and happen to be heading there tomorrow!

    Like

    • Hi TessaMcp, Thank you so much! The flowers are all starting to bud, and I’m super happy about the weather! 6 months of hell (I mean summer) is equivalent to a Canadian winter…haha. I hope you have a great time in Margaret River!

      Like

  2. Dear Holly: I’ve been thinking about you today and so it was so nice to see your blog. I will miss them; learning about the animals and the plant world; though you know there are some animals I don’t want to learn about!!!!!! I think it will be a good idea for you to join an appropriate society when you get to Perth.

    Well my dear, so nice to hear from you, and whatever you do for Easter have a nice time. I’m taking it that you start your new jobs (seeding) at the beginning of April, or have you already started?

    Big hugs and Happy Easter to both of you. Will you be able to take Tessa with you when you go, or will you have to leave her with Tess and Brian? Thank you for the photos.

    Love you lots, Aunt Jane and Uncle John xoxo

    Like

    • Hello! Thanks for the message Aunt Jane (and Uncle John!),

      Yes Tessie is coming with us, I would never leave her behind…she’s my partner in crime. We’ll be living in a house in 2 weeks (when we start seeding) that will have space for her to settle for the meanwhile as well.

      As for Easter, I think we’ve got lots of work to do around the farm but we will be getting a couple of days to rest. We’re gearing up for crutching (which is a nice way of saying cleaning up the sheeps bottoms of dags).

      That’s fantastic news about Adam. I hope it goes well, I don’t see why it wouldn’t!

      Please say hi to the little guy (and Vanessa and Pete) for me. Enjoy your family time, and get better!
      Happy Easter!
      xoxoxo

      Like

  3. Things are sure greening up, it seems strange that you have two growing seasons in a year. When i think about it it is obviose, the sun scorching the earth then a fresh rainfall in the autumn is bound to spring things back into life for a spell. Around june/july does everthing stop?

    Like

    • Hey! We experience dry weather from September to April/May…which is a long spell of dryness and heat. It’s very difficult to grow here, not to mention the bore water is notorious for burning plants as well. It’s a lot for farmers to manage!

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

