Congratulations: Heather and Curtis!

My twin sister and her husband have just welcomed their new son Morgan into their lives.  Our families are thrilled!

Screen Shot 2013-07-28 at 8.01.33 AM

Strangely, when I was speaking with my sister about all the details, I suddenly felt less afraid (I am still kind of scared!) of being pregnant.  It’s as though if she could survive it, I could too.  Knowing our bodies are almost identical gives me less fear if it ever happens for us in the future.

My grandma told me all about her child birth stories, she recalled them vividly.  I believe these moments are major mile stones in a women’s life if she chooses to have children, and it would be hard to compare any other moment as having such intensity.

We’re excited to see Morgan grow and develop into a young man.

Creating another little person is a pretty incredible achievement!

Congrats you two!

xo

2 thoughts on “Congratulations: Heather and Curtis!

  1. Lovely post.

    I agree that childbirth is intense and beautiful. Both my daughters were born on a Wednesday, in June, at 10am. However, one decided to come slowly, in the UK, in a birthing pool, with my husband, mother and midwife present, and the younger wanted to get out fast, in Chile, with every one in the hospital watching, (or so it felt like it).

    And I have the stories of how my brother and I were born in Canada, (the doctor slapped my mother because she was screaming with my brother!)

    And I have the stories of my grandmothers. One had both her sons in her bed at home, and sat up laughing after each birth. My other grandmother had her first son during a bomb raid in Birmingham, she had no idea what was happening and how the baby was going to come out.

    They are stories I will pass on to my daughters if they decide to have children.

    Intense and beautiful.

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

