Coriander Vs Snail.

Last weekend Mike and I planted some herbs (mint, coriander, basil) tomatos and strawberries in pots in our backyard.  These are just the beginnings of our efforts to cultivate something edible from the property we are renting.

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.18.12 PM

This lake is right beside our house (complete with mountain ducks, black swans, pelicans etc.).  I have spent a lot of time walking around it, photographing the birds.  It’s such a peaceful place.  I’ve got my eyes out for a long neck turtle which live and breed here, and apparently are very endangered.

We have a lovely backyard.  We’ve been missing the country, so we made plans and went to town planting in large self watering pots.

Unfortunately there has been a battle of epic proportions.

Mike saw it coming and prepared us for a fight.  He bought “Snail bait”.   As you might imaging, I was frowning.

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.17.54 PM

This is nearly a smile!  The following flowers were found in Kings Park which is right near the city (close to us as well!)

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.17.02 PM Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.17.11 PM Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.17.18 PM Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.17.29 PM Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.17.45 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.18.21 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.16.51 PMScreen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.18.06 PM

I took this photo when we first moved here…

I may have been frowning but I knew he was right.  I’d seen my goggly eyed friends every morning and evening.  On my way to work, or on a rainy day.  I’d smile when I saw one of my large slimy snails slithering towards the chilli plant or up our back step.  I caught myself saying hello to them more often then not!

What is more important?  Fresh picked coriander or my little friends?

I didn’t think the stuff would actually work.  I was wrong.  They never stood a chance.

Mike and I put the baits around and the following morning we went and saw the carnage.

My poor snails were dying very s.l.. o…….w agonising deaths.  In fact some took several hours to die.

I actually feel really bad about this.  Of course I know there has to be some control or we’d never eat.  It’s a microcosm of what agricultural farmers deal with.

PS:  Zero 7 just released a new track:  “Don’t Call it Love”

I’ve been listening to Bonobo’s album “The North Borders” and am thoroughly enjoying it.  Check it.

5 thoughts on “Coriander Vs Snail.

  1. I used to call my husband the Black Ops man in the garden. When I really couldn’t muster the will to weed etc he’d sneak out and zap things with herbicide…and then report back as if nothing had happened. That’s how I appeased my moral anxieties.
    One trick with snails and slugs is to pop them in the bin on bin night and let them go to land fill where they will have a super time. If you cut the population you can work to plant them out. I found once the garden really got going they weren’t really a problem because it attracted birds etc. I do worry about the food chain with snail bait.
    Love your pics of all the plants.

    Like

    • That’s a great idea to just pop them in the bin. Good idea! Mike’s grandma apparently puts egg shells in her garden as they don’t like sharp objects. I might try both of these things as Mike and I both disused what might be in the baits…is probably not good for us either. Or the birds…or ground water.

      Like

  2. Why not try sinking a shallow bowl into the ground and fill it with flat beer? Snails love it! And they die happy! Mind you, rather than waste good beer, our snails go in the bin also.

    I was so surprised to read that you like Zero 7. I was beginning to think that no one I know had even heard of them. I love their music; it’s so original. Especially love their early work featuring artists like Sia Furler, Tina Dico and Sophie Barker. Musical matches made in heaven!

    Like

    • I’ll get Mike to try the shallow bowl trick. It might be hard to convince him to waste good ale! haha. Zero 7, I’ve been listening to them since I was a teenager… such a relaxing place it takes you. I’m looking forward to this new album. They have a unique sound (though bonobo fits right in there with the chill out crowd as well).

      Have you listened to Bonobo before?

      Like

      • Hello Holly,
        I was listening to Bonobo (Animal Magic) when I saw your reply come in. What a coincidence.
        Their music is good to go off to sleep with.

        Like

Let me know your thoughts

