Penguin Island – Western Australia

Penguin Island is a bird sanctuary for not only penguins, but many different species of birds.  Many of whom head there to nest.  We also spotted a king skink, which magically came out on cue when I proclaimed “I hope I see a skink!”

Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.18.41 PM

Sooty Tern
Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.19.16 PM

We paid to “feed penguins” which was not quite what I was imagining, but nice to see the little ones up close.  This one was 22 years old captive.  Generally they only live to be around 7 – 10 years old.Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.20.23 PM

Crested Tern
Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.20.53 PM Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.21.52 PM Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.22.14 PM

This man literally walked across…while we took the $14.00 ferry.Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.22.20 PM Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.22.35 PM

We snorkelled for several hours.  The water was amazingly warm.  This thing is very unattractive.Screen Shot 2013-11-23 at 5.23.01 PM

  This last photo is an outfit I wore yesterday which is the trendiest thing I’ve ever worn so I took a photo in the morning before I left for work.

8 thoughts on “Penguin Island – Western Australia

  1. Hello Holly. I’m glad you had a good day at Penguin Island. It certainly is an interesting place to visit, isn’t it? However, $14 to feed the penguins is a bit rich. When my brother and I were much younger, we could feed the little ones for free! We had a beach house at Shoalwater Bay, overlooking the Island. As kids we spent a lot of our holidays roaming around it (long before it became a sanctuary). We always walked over via the spit when the tide was low.

    My mother often spoke of a man called Seaforth McKenzie, the King of Penguin Island, who was its first resident. For some fascinating stories of W.A.’s only “king”, Google the term “Seaforth McKenzie Penguin Island”. Folks used to dress up in their best gear and stay overnight in the caves after attending royal festivities in the king’s ballroom. Seaforth would dress appropriately for the occasion. I would have loved to have seen it all, but it was long before my time.

    Like

    • This Seaforh McKenzie sounds like an epic character! I wonder how they fit in the caves, it would have been really something to see!

      The spit would be quite easy to walk across however the DEC have warned not to cross as people have died? I guess the tide comes in quickly… I wondered if swimming would get you there faster!

      Like

      • Holly, the caves were actually larger back then. They have slowly collapsed and eroded ever since. McKenzie had done them up with bedding and furniture for comfort. The spit is an easy walk at low tide, but even then, the ocean currents can create deeper sections across it. We sometimes found that when the water got too deep on the spit, we would switch to a short swim!

        As far as I recall, there are a few cases of folks drowning on the spit, but I think they were mainly migrants or holiday makers from overseas who weren’t aware of the dangers.

        Did you know there is a tunnel through the island at the northern end. One can crawl through on all fours, but it’s not very long. DEC may have blocked it off by now. I haven’t been over for years. All the fun went out of it when it was declared part of the marine park. No more spearfishing and hunting for abalone any more…….

        Like

  2. lovely… and even if the penguin was 22 it is a beautiful photo… some how the light sea green reflection on his throat is amazing…. would love to snorggle one day but as the husband does not swim I will have enjoy in through your eyes.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting Jolynn. I hope that maybe you could get into the water and snorkle for a try if your husband would be happy to entertain himself on the beach? I love seeing everything under the waves…truly awesome stuff.

      Like

  3. Long, long ago, you read a blog post of mine about Iceland. I’ve been meaning to do two things since then: check out your blog, and post a few photos. Finally did both! In case you are curious… http://beretolsen.wordpress.com/2013/11/26/iceland-haiku-1/
    Did you get a chance to visit Iceland yet? Your photographs are beautiful! My husband is from Australia, but we only ever visit friends and relatives. It’s clearly time to see the country.

    Like

    • Wow, thanks for coming to Reterrain. You’ve not been to the country in Australia? You must go, there is such variety and adventure here.

      Iceland, is one of my top places. I’m dying to go!

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

