I can’t paint, but Anya Brock can.

Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 4.58.15 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 4.58.54 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 5.00.53 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 5.01.04 PM

Paintings: Anya Brock (I’m in love with the colours and her aesthetic).  Her work can be found all over Perth.  The large paintings are in the city, and the small exhibition was found in Fremantle over Valentines weekend.Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 5.41.40 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-08 at 5.01.49 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-08 at 5.02.03 PM

The last time I tried to paint, I created the biggest piece of crap.  Mike joked about hanging it up in the living room when we had guest stay with us on the farm, and I eventually threw it out; to prevent that from ever happening.

Last week Mike took me to Heirisson Island and surprised me…with kangaroos!  This is an island very near our home in East Perth, and I am so excited that we can get our kangaroo fix whenever we want.  It was such a nice surprise.  I made some clicking sounds and this young girl came over for an nice chin scratch and a cuddle.  Often Mike and I remember Lena.  We miss her.  Seeing this young western grey kangaroo brought back so many good memories for us.  I’ve caught myself a few times over the past 1.5 years imagining what she would have been like as an adult.

Speaking of me imagining things…

Earlier this week I really embarrassed myself.  I’m hoping it doesn’t happen again (something tells me it might…).  This has nothing to do with painting.

Mikes phone died while he was at work.  I went about 13 hours without a word from him, and by the end of my day, I was a total mess.  I assumed the worst…  He was gone.  Something terrible had happened…

Thankfully he came home safe and sound only to find me in tears.  He joked with me for the next 24 hours about how amazing it was to be brought back from the dead.  He did remind me that there was a time when people didn’t have cell phones and people would have to wait hours to hear from one another.

This isn’t the first time though, I did the exact same thing when my beloved father was 1 hour and 45 minutes late getting to the train station to pick me up about 4 years ago.  He didn’t have a cell phone at the time and so I just had to wait.  I stood in the freezing snowy weather, becoming more and more devastated as each minute passed.  Eventually the familiar car drove up, by that point I broke into tears.  My dad was confused, he hugged me.  I had to explain that I just assume that people get into accidents when they don’t turn up.

Dad only forgot, and was half way home when he remembered… you can always count on that!  I’ve learned with him to allow for delays.

Have you ever thought the worst has happened when you haven’t been able to get in touch with someone?

Danny Marin – Searching (Original)

3 thoughts on “I can’t paint, but Anya Brock can.

    • Thanks for commenting Tonya. Hopefully in the future logic prevails… there’s nothing worse than complete fear. If anything it shows that you really care about someone.

      Hahah have to see the positives of this situation.

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

