Jumping Spiders Take 2.

Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 7.30.43 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 7.30.14 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 7.30.04 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 7.29.30 PMI tried my luck again for a jumping spider, and this time one revealed itself to me just before it caught it’s meal.  I saw him slowly creep forward and knew he was onto something.  I secretly hoped he would catch another insect while I had my camera with me.

I managed to capture a short film of him carrying his meal away out of sight which is quite cool to watch. 

3 thoughts on “Jumping Spiders Take 2.

  1. Great pics Holly. Next to the Christmas spider (which I haven’t seen for many years, the jumping spiders are my favourites. We have several in the house. They seem to like hanging around doors a lot. I have a couple in my study who like to walk around my desk from time to time. I have to be so careful of them so they don’t get hurt. When they get too pesky, I relocate them to the window sill for a while, but it’s not long before they are back on the desk. Perhaps they like hiding around amongst all the papers and junk!

    Like

    • I really love jumping spiders. I think they look like happy little men with mustaches. They also watch you and are curious, and generally quite beautiful.

      I love that you’ve kept a few in your house (as crazy as some might think that is!) I would love to have some around our house too.

      Have you ever seen the male peacock spider? They are around Perth apparently, but I’ve yet to see one. It would be my goal in life to see one!

      I think also knowing it won’t bite you or try to kill you is nice too.

      Oh as for a lens, its Canon 100mm (fixed) 2.8 macro lens. It’s about 500-$600.00 but it’s an excellent lens for portraiture as well. I just love it!

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

