Portraits of Jumping Spiders.

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 1.11.35 PMScreen Shot 2014-09-28 at 1.12.33 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 1.12.23 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 1.12.04 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 1.11.48 PM Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 1.11.21 PM My knees are sooooo upset with me at the moment, my back is quite stiff from couching.  But the pain was so worth it! I’ve been crouching most of the morning in Queens Garden amongst the plants trying to capture the curious little jumping spiders that surrounded me.  At first I thought there was only one, but when I looked closer… they were in serious abundance.  Young, old, dark, light, skittish and oddly one that was literally a camera hog. I think, I’ve got 4 different spiders here.  The most fabulous I spent some time filming.  The video is much better today, as I tried using a tripod to keep the camera steady.  He’s just sussing me out.

This weekend I’ve been updating my website.  www.redterrain.com  check it out!

I’ve also been listening to a few songs repeatedly.  Alt – J released a new album this year and a couple of the tracks are stand outs: (not to mention Hunger of The Pine which I wrote about a few months back).  It’s really great stuff.

Every Other Freckle – Alt J

Warm Foothills – Alt J

Gospel of John Hurt – Alt J 

7 thoughts on “Portraits of Jumping Spiders.

    • I loooove them. They really do make me smile. There were about 4 types (didn’t photograph them all as they were too quick for me) today, but there is one very special type that apparently lives near and around Perth “the peacock” spider which would be incredible to see in real life. If I ever find it, I think I’d faint out of sheer excitement!

      Like

    • Hey Jen,

      I’m pretty positive they aren’t poisonous (might sting a bit it they did bite) but really harmless. There are only 2 types of spiders to look out for, one is the Sydney funnel web and the other a red back (which won’t kill you unless you are older or younger). The rest will cause pain or inflammation.

      It is spring here. The birds are in those gardens year round as they rotate all kinds of flora. It’s sooo nice to heat, you’re right!

      I’m really enjoying the new camera. I sold my other, and have been enjoying the ease at which I can use this one. It has a lot of features that I’ve not even touched yet. Taking videos is pretty cool though…

      I actually wish I could get even closer to the spiders… I may talk to the camera store and see how that can be done. Do you know how?

      Like

Let me know your thoughts

