Madam Bovary & the bronze aussie jumper

Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.51.07 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.51.44 PM

This might be the largest jumping spider that I’ve come across.  It’s nearly 3x bigger than any of the others.  A quick search tells me it might be a bronze aussie jumper (but are not listed as being in WA).  I am pretty damn stoked to see it today.
Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.53.16 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.53.07 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.52.56 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.52.45 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.52.34 PM

My usual crew were out on the leaves today too.Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.52.21 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.52.04 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.51.55 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.51.29 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-25 at 5.51.21 PM

I’ve been reading this novel over the past couple of days.  Originally written in French in 1856.  It never ceases to amaze me how familiar the people of 100+ years ago seem.  This novel intrigues me like all modern classics, particularly because it shows that even though we’ve evolved…our ancestors have experienced the same emotions; heart ache, death, love, happiness…it’s all been experienced before, and yet I sometimes foolishly believe I’m experiencing elements in my life that may have never been felt before.    Wrong, and kind of self indulgent that I may at times believe so.

I’ve been out lolling about in the streets lately, people watching (of which I’ve been told I’m terribly indiscreet).  When I see frail, stooped older people (my heart melts) my mind wanders and I imagine what they must have been like when they were young.  Am I similar to the woman wearing a colourful outfit, with her hair perfectly styled?  Was she wild when she was young and able to run?  Perhaps.

Will Mike and I live into old age and still hold hands in the street, while we wander to get groceries…

I imagine we will.

I smile a lot to myself when I read these older works…  Everything we experience in this life, has been felt before.

Oh yes, today is the 3rd anniversary of this blog.  Well done me!

4 thoughts on “Madam Bovary & the bronze aussie jumper

  1. Don’t class people watching as indiscreet. .. the whole world does it. ..and the truth is. .it’s very interesting.
    There’s nothing better than sitting in a coffee shop and just passing the time people watching

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

