Sickness & Parenting

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 8.17.42 amScreen Shot 2017-05-08 at 8.17.48 amScreen Shot 2017-05-08 at 8.17.55 amScreen Shot 2017-05-08 at 8.18.01 amYesterday was monumental for two reasons.  The first was due to the fact that Wesley and I had both begun to feel well again after a harrowing few days of vomiting, sleepless nights and terrible slippery bowels.  Being on my own made this very very challenging.  Whilst I was vomiting, I also tended to Wesley.

Despite the hardship, we survived with a little help!

Mike’s currently working in Western Australia, so we are managing on our own.  His mum was a huge help and took our wee man for a night so I could recover.  His cousin Sarah also came over for a few hours after the worst of it to help me have a nap.  I am so grateful for their help, it was like having superhero’s come and save the day (especially with the risk of catching it themselves).  It got all a bit much at one point after I’d been vomiting all night… thankfully they live so near and were able to help.

So we put on some music yesterday afternoon and danced to celebrate feeling well.  I don’t think there is anything more liberating than feeling your body become so suddenly unwell, and then well again.

This brings us to moment number two.

Wesley, surprised me.

He took his first steps in the midst of dancing!  

He’s 11 months old this week and I had literally just finished saying to my sister Victoria that he might be a few weeks away from walking.  It was such a special moment.  I was truly so lucky to be taking photos of him dancing when it happened.  These are the first steps to independence…  It’s bittersweet Mike is missing this but soon he will be home with us again.  I can’t wait for him to see all the new things Wesley is learning!

Right, now I’d love to know… Have you had to parent whilst sick and what was the worst of it for you?  What’s your horror story?

3 thoughts on “Sickness & Parenting

  1. Glad you’re feeling better, and that you have a great support system to help you out. And perhaps the biggest news of all is that baby is walking–he will probably be running by the time his daddy gets home!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better. As a mother of four I have lots of memories of struggling through illness, but I don’t usually think about them any more. Meanwhile I am the support just now for an ill daughter (maybe the same bug as you had) and am off again to take care of her two little ones. Of course, I am happy to be able to help her and spend some time with two very special little fellows.

    Like

Let me know your thoughts

