A quick change of palate

Screen Shot 2017-05-21 at 6.54.30 pmScreen Shot 2017-05-19 at 2.03.39 pmScreen Shot 2017-05-19 at 2.04.12 pmIt is the season of the sweetly sour feijoa, and until recently I’d not particularly enjoyed the taste.  At all.

Wesley however has been enjoying the sweet and complex flavours for the past couple of weeks.  During this time many bits have been tossed onto the floor and I, being sort of lazy simply eat the little bits.

I’ve consumed enough now to know that I actually rather enjoy the taste.

The fruit hails from South America, and is found dropped from mature trees ripe and ready to eat.  They sell for a heavy price at the grocery store – so it’s been a real treat having a tree at Mike’s mums for total gluttony.

The plate was a gift when we first moved in from Wesley’s great grandmother Izzy.  I love it so much, I feel like it makes everything just a bit more fabulous in it’s golden rimmed form.

So this fruit, magically seduced me into enjoying it’s strange flavour.

Have you ever had a change of heart about a food you didn’t particularly like at first?

Everything else is fair game… apart from mushrooms, no matter how many I eat – my extreme dislike remains.

4 thoughts on “A quick change of palate

  1. At first I thought it was a sliced cucumber then taking a closer look and scrolling down, i found out the truth… how does it look whole and what does the tree look like. And yes I have had a change of heart on different foods depending what my body is calling for.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey I’ll update the post with some more photos tonight. The tree actually has really striking red flowers before it fruits.
      The outside of the fruit is oval shaped and medium/dark green with soft but firm skin.

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts

