My 50 Foot Derrière.

I’m starting to enjoy this tractor driving business.  At first I was obviously not very technically sound and I had feared I might have gotten in over my head.  But over the course of the past few days I finally feel confident.

I spent the first two days in complete silence.  Like a maniac.  I listened to the sound of the tractor for 16 hours.  I needed to focus, and be 100 percent present.  I’ve got this habit of dreaming (lately about fashion) so I made sure to keep my brain switched on and that I understood the sounds I was meant to be hearing.

Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 2.22.59 PMScreen Shot 2013-05-03 at 12.37.34 PM Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 12.37.45 PM Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 12.37.54 PMScreen Shot 2013-05-03 at 2.56.54 PM Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 12.38.03 PM Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 3.49.13 PM

This is basically half of my behind…The orange part is a tank that is filled with fertiliser, which we load every 3 hours.Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 2.57.03 PM

There is a lot happening at once that I’ve got to pay close attention to:

The GPS, Seed Rate, Air Flow, Tractor Revs, on a dime Tight U-turns (basically every turn!), uneven soil, actually putting the seed into the ground, re-connecting to Auto Steer, avoid trees, power poles, fences and on top of that remember I have a 50 foot wide derrière and a 50 foot long torso.

After 4 days it feels natural.

Talk about an achievement, I really never imagined myself doing this job, ever!

Although, Mike did mention to me he (and the boss) noticed a close shave I had with a corner fence post (it was on my first day alone!) and I’ll admit I was whispering some cuss words when I realized just how close (we’re talking a couple of millimeters) I was.  My ability to guess distances is a little all over the place, and so to counter that I’ve been super cautious leaving lots of space between me and well…everything.

As can be expected…the boss is totally happy with that!  In fact very enthusiastic…

As for today I’m off and I’ve loved the time to take my camera and bird watch.  I’ve found a pair of Red Tailed Black Cockatoos, and some other curious little birds.  I’m still on the look out for a Major Mitchell Cockatoo.

I’ve finally gotten around to those tractor photos you were asking about!

So, here’s the thing reader’s… 

I’m on the hunt for some new music.  Can you help me? 

I’d love to add some new stuff to my list.

Thanks for reading!

Holly

14 thoughts on “My 50 Foot Derrière.

    • Thanks Em! I’ll be missing it when we move to Perth….definitely. It will be a challenge to be in the city again, but there are many things that I am also looking forward to! : ) Got your email, I’ll write you soon! xoxox

      Like

  1. Just heard some music by Jim Pepper – jazz with a Native American twist. Really good. But the CD’s are terribly expensive! If you sit on that tractor long enough, you will get a 50 foot derriere and then where will fashion be?

    Like

    • Thanks for the recommendation Judy! I’ll give it a listen. As for my interest in fashion and plunking my butt into a seat for many hours…I’ve combated it from day one! I’m on a pretty low calorie diet for the next 5 weeks. Mostly veggies, fruit and protein to keep my body in good health! Gotta keep an eye on it.

      Like

      • I was only teasing – you are too beautiful to worry about a thing. But that diet is just right. Love those fruits of the earth. And you know those guys are just waiting for you to tear down a fence post so they have a story to tell.

        Like

  2. I hear you Judy on the fence destruction….it doesn’t help my case that I did destroy a fence post the 2nd time I drove on the cattle property (2 years ago!) ahaha…I’m praying it never happens to me again. Especially not in a ridiculously expensive tractor. I’ve seen what happens to my body when I don’t take care..haha so I’m cautious to be kind to it. (ps..I also have cookies…and a big dinner when get home!) aahha.

    Like

  3. Sounds like the tractoring is going swimmingly, Holly. Kudos to you for that. I was just telling a friend (who grew up on a farm and was driving tractors since he was, i dunno, 3 or something like most farm kids), that I’ve never driven anything aside from road vehicles, and how much fun that sounded like. I was rewarded with a wry smile and a raised eyebrow that very articulately conveyed “city slicker!”

    Like

    • hahah I was in the same boat till I was thrown into the deep end. In a way I recommend you give it a go! It’s quite empowering to be in command of such a massive piece of equipment. Are you still in Mexico? Where are you headed next?

      Thanks for commenting Charlene!

      Like

      • “It’s quite empowering to be in command of such a massive piece of equipment”

        That’s what I’m thinking. One day maybe, when I’m back in Oz. Not near any farms or farmers at the moment.

        I’m in the USA at the moment and will be for another few weeks yet, at which point I have to head… somewhere. Haven’t quite figured out where yet, but something will come up I suppose 😀

        Like

Let me know your thoughts