A brief romance with Melbourne

Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.45.30 AM

These three cuties, greeted me on my way to meet with an old friend Derek (also known as George) for coffee in Fitzroy.

Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.42.40 AM Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.42.33 AM Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.42.12 AM Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.41.33 AM Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.41.41 AM Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.41.49 AM Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.41.56 AM

Hellas Cakes, Richmond – This place looked and smelled delicious.  They also gave me the best soy latte I’ve ever tasted.

Screen Shot 2015-01-03 at 8.42.03 AM

Melbourne was my home briefly for 4 days during my time in Victoria.  I spent my days there wandering the familiar streets browsing shops and meeting with old friends.  It is a gritty, raw, edgy city filled with many pockets of interesting places to experience.

I love this city for it’s diversity, food, culture, art, fashion and people.  There is huge hipster influence here that I actually want to acknowledge the fact openly right now…

I wish I was a hipster.

Not pictured:

  • My disgusting fever/head-cold/flu which I blatantly spread around the city through my trip on transport
  • The vast population of men (the numbers seem higher here).
  • Natalie and Ross whom I visited with over two days in Prahran
  • The fashionable women and older ladies who were spotted in trendy Prahran as I trolled the streets.
  • Margarita pizza from Sempre I enjoyed this amazing meal solo, one day when I made it my mission to find the best pizza in the city.  Bonus:  It was really cheap too.
  • My friend Emily and her partner Lenny making me the best tofu burger in their home.
  • Me pacing around Emilys courtyard trying not to vomit on her plants for 10 minutes (worst feeling ever) this was from the flu not the tofu.
  • Derek’s photo, it’s not you it’s me…. Basically it’s not my best work.  Sorry Derek.

Mike and I lived in Melbourne for six months when we first moved to Australia.  Our home was located in scummy Footscray (which was also an up and coming neighbourhood) it was a mecca for international food, and despite the rough reputation it has, we loved living there.  Our time living in Melbourne was unfortunately made difficult as Mike was finding it hard to gain employment in a steady role, and I was being pushed to the brink of sanity in my job.  So we made the decision to move on to the land of opportunity, Western Australia.

Perth is exciting, and beautiful in many ways…  But, there is no comparison however for the variety in architecture, people, urban living spaces and food options found in Melbourne!

Have you ever visited or lived in Melbourne? What were some of your favourite places?

3 thoughts on “A brief romance with Melbourne

Let me know your thoughts